top of page

Sinking

Oh, Virginia! How I wanted to love you, but I could only ever love the idea of you. Your writing, in college, in all the women's lit classes ... what was it? Too dry? Too academic? Too remote? I tried, as I try again, but you just wouldn't let us all the way in, would you? The part I think I understand is the part I only imagine in the aftermath. When I look at the Annie Leibovitz photo of the river Ouse, I believe I feel what you might have felt. The silky allure of it. The magnetic pull of it.

Virginia’s River

You wouldn’t think a river

Could be so cold

Not this cold

But even as I wade

I feel yet don’t feel

I’ve stood on its banks

A hundred maybe a thousand

Times and watched

Its continual flow

Its smooth current

Rolling along in one

Forever direction

I’ve thought

At different times how

It might feel but never

Until today have I felt

The certainty that

Even with darling Leonard

To whom I owe

All the happiness

Of my life and even

With love and art

And poetry and chloral

And morphine and sunlight

And even with a lighthouse

And a room of my own

It is not enough

It will never be enough

To keep me from filling

My overcoat pockets

With just the right

Number of stones

Wading step

By purposeful step

To - like a child

Going under its

Very first time -

Take one last

Long deep inhale

Before I sink

To the depths

That have come

To mark my life

It’s surprising

How easy it is to do this

To melt gently

Into the Ouse River

And become

Its smooth current

Rolling along in one

Forever direction

Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page