top of page

Scratching on Freud


I haven't been reading much Kerouac this week. Or doing any new writing. Spent most of my time playing addictive word games on a Kindle. Been thinking a lot about Annie Leibovitz, too, and the Pilgrimage exhibit that inspired me so. Here, I tried to recreate one of my favorite of her photos, tossing a carpet I picked up in Turkey back in 1990 onto our old, worn, leather couch. Just a hint, an idea of it, to go with the poem I wrote. Oh, to have been a patient on that thing back in the day...

Sigmund’s Couch

The one in Britain

after he fled Austria

and set up shop

hung his shingle

opened his practice among

the hardscrabble rabble

of working class London

That couch

covered with a huge wool

Turkish carpet draped

so it flows like a river

into the ocean of other

different carpets

a hodgepodge of patterns

that overlap like countercurrents

push and ebb and flow

I can’t help but

do my own analysis

of his decorative choices

As I lie down and feel

the scratchy wool beneath me

I know he doesn’t want

any of us to get

too comfortable

The session begins

and my skin crawls

I shift and squirm a lot

I look for one of those

99 cent backscratchers

you used to could find

at World Market

But there’s nothing

Nothing but an orderly

floor-to-ceiling bookshelf

and the Istanbul bazaar

the Bosphorus Straits

that is his floor

I feel my little raft drift

over the edge of the couch

down the antique wooly waterfall

a thousand scrawny Ottoman

sheep were sheared for

My dinghy capsizes

the rip tide of itch

drags me out and all he does

is sit there sit there sit there

until I say hey, hey

could you maybe scratch my back

to which he replies

Hmmmm...

Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page